5G in mechanical and plant engineering Guideline for the integration of 5G in product and production

Carlos Amarillo/Shutterstock, bearbeitet vom VDMA

With the Guideline 5G in Mechanical and Plant Engineering and the Use Cases developed, the VDMA supports its members in identifying the potentials, challenges and possible applications of 5G in products and production, so that companies can carefully assess the utility value and successfully develop an implementation strategy.

The term 5G has established itself as a widespread topic in mechanical and plant engineering. 5G, the fifth generation of mobile phone technology, promises to be an important pioneer for the industry of the future.
A key factor for the economic success of the German mechanical and plant engineering industry in the future will be the successful and profitable provision of highly productive and reliable, wirelessly networkable machines and plants, with a focus on high-quality value for the end user. It will also drive the convergence of reliable wireless automation and communication processes in product and process innovation.
The interests and application requirements of the mechanical and plant engineering industry are the focus of the guide and the use cases
However, there is an enormous need for action and evaluation regarding 5G in order to recognize the true potential of this technology for member companies at an early stage and to strengthen its global competitive position.
With this motivation, the core working group of the VDMA 5G User Group and the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS started a project in September 2019 to describe in detail the requirements of the mechanical and plant engineering industry in a guideline.

With the description of the use cases, the guide provides clarity about the possible applications of 5G and other radio technologies and addresses important questions with a special focus on the requirements of the mechanical and plant engineering companies:
- Which criteria are important if an application is to be realized with cable or wireless?
- What are the advantages of 5G for the company?
- Which criteria are relevant when deciding on a campus network?
- Which infrastructure do I need?
- What is important to consider when setting up a 5G networked production?
- How do I make my machine 5G-ready?
- Which applications in mechanical and plant engineering make sense for my company?
- What are the requirements and usage scenarios of my applications?

The special feature of the guideline and the use cases is the focus on user requirements, which was made possible by the intensive participation of the member companies (Fraunhofer IIS)

You can download the guideline here.

Use Cases as a practice-oriented instrument for 5G applications

An important task of many companies is the planning and evaluation of 5G application scenarios. This includes defining the starting point and the desired scenario as well as determining the requirements for which 5G functions can generate great value and high demand.

The following use cases have been developed by the 5G core working group, which consists of members of the VDMA, and Fraunhofer IIS. They do not offer a ready-made strategy for the implementation of 5G in companies. Rather, they are a practical aid and orientation guide for companies in the early stages of planning 5G applications. They present in detail the required parameters and a comparison between 5G and other wireless technologies. This exercise should be carried out by all companies before implementing a 5G application and should always be updated to reflect the latest available releases of 5G. You can access the use cases here.

Survey on the guide "5G in mechanical and plant engineering" and Use Cases
Participate!

The VDMA intends to carry out further activities together with the 5G core working group and Fraunhofer IIS in Nuremberg to expand the know-how for industrial wireless applications and especially 5G and to identify new, worthwhile applications for mechanical and plant engineering.

We at VDMA attach great importance to a constructive exchange with our members, as their interests are the focus of our activities.

We would like to hear from you how you evaluate the now published guideline "5G in mechanical and plant engineering" and the described use cases. We are also interested in which applications and aspects described there are already relevant for your company today or will be of particular interest in the future.

Please participate in our survey here.

 

Downloads

5G im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau Leitfaden für die Integration von 5G in Produkt und Produktion

Carlos Amarillo/Shutterstock, bearbeitet vom VDMA

Mit dem Leitfaden 5G im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau und den erarbeiteten Use Cases unterstützt der VDMA seine Mitglieder dabei, die Potentiale, Herausforderungen und Einsatzmöglichkeiten von 5G in Produkt und Produktion zu identifizieren, sodass die Unternehmen den Nutzwert sorgfältig abschätzen können und eine Umsetzungsstrategie erfolgreich entwickeln.

Der Begriff 5G hat sich als ein weit verbreitetes Thema im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau etabliert. 5G, die fünfte Generation der Mobilfunktechnologie, verspricht ein wichtiger Wegbereiter für die Industrie der Zukunft zu werden. 
 
Ein Schlüsselfaktor für den wirtschaftlichen Erfolg des deutschen Maschinen- und Anlagenbaus in der Zukunft wird die erfolgreiche und profitable Bereitstellung von hochproduktiven und zuverlässigen, drahtlos-vernetzbaren Maschinen und Anlagen sein, mit dem Fokus auf einen qualitativ hochwertigen Nutzwert für den Endanwender. Darüber hinaus wird die Konvergenz von Automatisierungsprozessen und zuverlässiger drahtloser Kommunikation die Produkt- und Produktionsinnovation vorantreiben.
 
Die Interessen und Anwendungsanforderungen des Maschinen- und Anlagenbaus stehen im Mittelpunkt des Leitfadens und der Use Cases
 
Es besteht jedoch ein enormer Handlungs- und Evaluierungsbedarf bezüglich 5G, um das wahre Potential dieser Technologie für die Mitgliedsunternehmen frühzeitig zu erkennen und seine globale Wettbewerbsposition zu stärken.
 
Im September 2019 begann mit dieser Motivation die Kernarbeitsgruppe der VDMA 5G-User Group und das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS ein Projekt, um in einem Leitfaden die Anforderungen der Maschinen- und Anlagenbauindustrie im Detail zu beschreiben. 

Der Leitfaden schafft mit der Beschreibung der Use Cases Klarheit über die Einsatzmöglichkeiten von 5G und anderen Funktechnologien und greift dabei wichtige Fragen mit dem besonderen Fokus auf die Anforderungen der Maschinen- und Anlagenbauunternehmen auf:
 
Welche Kriterien sind wichtig, ob eine Anwendung mit Kabel oder Funk zu realisieren ist?
Welche Vorteile bringt 5G für das Unternehmen?
Welche Kriterien sind relevant bei der Entscheidung für ein Campus-Netz?
Welche Infrastruktur brauche ich?
Was ist beim Aufbau einer mit 5G-vernetzen Produktion zu beachten?
Wie mache ich meine Maschine 5G-ready?
Welche Anwendungen im Maschinen- und Anlagebau sind für mein Unternehmen sinnvoll?
Was sind die Anforderungen und Einsatzszenarien meiner Anwendungen?
 

Die Besonderheit des Leitfadens und der Use Cases liegt auf der Fokussierung der Anwenderanforderungen, die über die intensive Beteiligung der Mitgliedsunternehmen möglich wurde (Fraunhofer IIS)

Sie können den Leitfaden hier herunterladen. 

Use Cases als praxisorientiertes Instrument zu 5G-Anwendungen

Eine wichtige Aufgabe vieler Unternehmen ist die Planung und Bewertung von 5G-Anwendungsszenarien. Dazu gehört die Definition des Ausgangspunktes und des gewünschten Szenarios sowie die Bestimmung der Anforderungen, für die 5G-Funktionen großen Wert und hohe Nachfrage erzeugen können.

Die folgenden Use Cases wurden von der 5G Kernarbeitsgruppe, die sich aus Mitgliedern des VDMA zusammensetzt, und dem Fraunhofer IIS entwickelt. Sie bieten keine vorgefertigte Strategie für die Umsetzung von 5G in den Unternehmen. Vielmehr sind sie eine praxisorientierte Hilfestellung und Orientierungshilfe für Unternehmen in den frühen Phasen der Planung von 5G-Anwendungen. Sie stellen detailliert die erforderlichen Parameter sowie einen Vergleich zwischen 5G und anderen drahtlosen Technologien dar. Diese Übung sollte von allen Unternehmen vor der Implementierung einer 5G-Anwendung durchgeführt und stets auf Basis der neuesten, verfügbaren Releases von 5G aktualisiert werden. Sie können hier auf die Use Cases zugreifen.

Umfrage zum Leitfaden „5G im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau“ und Use Cases 
Machen Sie mit!

Der VDMA beabsichtigt gemeinsam mit der 5G Kernarbeitsgruppe und dem Fraunhofer IIS in Nürnberg weitere Aktionen durchzuführen, um das Know-how für industrielle Funkanwendungen und insbesondere 5G zu erweitern sowie um neue, lohnende Anwendungen für den Maschinen- und Anlagenbau zu eruieren.

Wir vom VDMA legen hohen Wert auf einen konstruktiven Austausch mit unseren Mitgliedern, da ihre Interessen in unserem Mittelpunkt stehen.

Wir möchten gerne von Ihnen erfahren, wie Sie den nun veröffentlichten Leitfaden „5G im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau“ und die beschriebenen Use Cases bewerten. Auch interessiert uns, welche dort beschriebenen Anwendungen und Aspekte für Ihr Unternehmen schon heute relevant sind oder künftig von besonderem Interesse sein werden.

Bitte beteiligen Sie sich hier an unserer Umfrage.

 

Downloads